top of page

A visit to the Virginia Quilt Museum

Hey Everyone!

I hope you are getting everything done on your "to do" list. Make a list and check it twice seems to be my motto all year long...

Last month while at the quarterly retreat for the Virginia Consortium of Quilters the group took a tour of the Virginia Quilt Museum. Here are some pictures I took...the collection was curated around quilts made from patterns that came with the Mountain Mist batting. They were exquisite...

There was also a collection of quilts that were inspired by antique quilts. The applique ones always fascinate me!

The visit was wonderful and the tour guide, although not a quilter, did an excellent job of pointing out details. Often details that only a non quilter might notice. I hope she stays at the museum for a long time.

My visit to Harrisonburg started out in a crazy way--I forgot my suitcase! No clothes, no meds, no toiletries...it was quite an adventure! Fortunately for me, there was a Gabe's next door. If you don't know what Gabe's is...think TJMaxx on steroids. I hate to shop, but Gabe's is one of my favorite stores. I picked up a whole outfit (including unmentionables...haha) for under $20. All name brand clothes. Look them up sometime...mygabes.com

I was also able to finish the sashing for my Gingerbread quilt. The first pic is me squaring up the blocks and figuring out placement...the second is the with the sashing. I've since finished the quilt. I'll show it to you once the quilter is done working her magic...

I was THRILLED with how the stripes all went the same direction!

We would love to have you join us in Virginia Beach for our March 2019 meeting of VCQ. Email me (rose@customquiltkits.com) or visit the website for more details!

keep quilting, ya'll!

Rose

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page