top of page

Merlin's Keystone

Hey Everyone!

I hope you are continuing to have a GREAT summer! Mine is about to wrap up~ I go back to work August 1st. For those who have been around awhile, you will know that I've been on medical leave since January. To say it's going to be hard to go back to work is an understatement...

If you are not part of the Mystery Quilt Along, the applique block last week was Merlin's Keystone, Block 96. (psst! if you haven't signed up, don't DELAY! the price goes up next Weds!) Sign up here!

Here is my block. I wish I had used more contrasting fabric. The blocks I sent out last week were a fun multi-colored polka dot and another color. It varied between blue, purple and pink. I couldn't decide, so I varied it. haha.

Merlin's Keystone

I emailed the designer a few months ago and asked her about her block and quilting in general. Here are the questions and answers...

1.Tell us a little bit about yourself—how did you start quilting? How long have you been quilting?

I learned to sew as a child and started quilting in high school. During the bicentennial in 1976, Better Homes & Gardens magazine had a national quilt contest. When I saw the winning quilts, I thought that I would like to make quilts like them. My grandmother had been a quilter in the 30s and 40s, and my mother sewed, so we had lots of fabric scraps!

2. Do you design anything else besides patterns? Fabric, etc?

Besides designing my Celtic & More patterns, I make art quilts for national and international competitions.

3. What is your favorite part about designing?

Researching my ideas and figuring out how to express that idea in fabric. For my Celtic knotwork, I love drawing knots and I could do that in my sleep!

4. Do you teach or vend at quilt shows? If so, what areas of the country will you be in the next 3 months so people can meet you?

I sell my patterns as well as other Celtic patterns, books and some specialty notions through my website at www.ScarlettRose.com I've taught and lectured throughout the US and in Japan.

5. Do you have a favorite color? Style of fabric?

My favorite color is red. I love batiks.

6. Where do you get your inspiration?

From everywhere since I read and enjoy watching programs on culture, history and art.

It was fun to chat via email with the designer. I hope we can meet in person, one day.

I would love to know if you have made any other patterns by Scarlett Rose. If so, comment below or head over to my FB page and post a pic. I'm sure Scarlett would love to see them as well!

keep quilting, ya'll!

Rose

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page