top of page

Spring Bouquet

Hey Everyone!

I hope everyone is having a great summer. I'm enjoying being pain free for the first time in almost 2 years. I officially finished up physical therapy this week and it was just what I needed to tell my muscles who is BOSS. haha...

The family and I just returned from a quick trip to DC. We went to Arlington National Cemetery, where the boys have started to realize our freedom is not free. Each of those headstones equals a life that gave the ultimate sacrifice for our country. A life that had hopes, dream, goals...a family...

Arlington National Cemetery

The boys enjoyed riding the metro everyday into DC. If you remember, they received "coupon books" for Christmas this past year. One of the coupons was a "train ride" in DC.

We also visited a Smithsonian Museum and attended a Nationals/Yankees game. Whew! It was hot!

On to quilting...we are well into the QuiltMaker 1,000 Blocks Mystery Quilt Along. This past week the applique block was Spring Bouquet By Cheryl Almgren Taylor. In a recent FB message, she sent me a little bit about what she has been up to lately...

"Hi Rose, that is outstanding news and I am honored to have be a part of your Mystery Quilt Along. You asked for me to share a little about my designing. My first patterns were published in 2007 and were a series of children's quilts called Storybook Snugglers. The Spring Bouquet block was designed specifically for the 100 Blocks series and was inspired by traditional floral applique. I have recently moved to Ohio and am in the process of setting up my beautiful new quilt studio. I am currently taking a hiatus from teaching and designing professionally due to my husband's illness. However, I have several intricate and exciting applique quilts planned for my own enjoyment. Thank you for including me in your event and happy quilting!! Best wishes, Cheryl"

I love her designs so much my hubs bought me this book and I can't wait to dive into it. I plan to use my laser to cut freezer paper templates and do the patterns needle turn applique. can't wait...can't wait!

Deck the Halls

If you didn't see the tips and tricks video this week on FB here it is. As you can see, I had a few helpers. Chi is such a ham!

If you haven't signed up, you can jump in anytime...but remember, the price is going up August 1st--so get in now!

keep quilting!

Rose


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page