top of page

Splendid Sampler

Hi Everyone!

In my last blog post I mentioned that I wanted to start another block of the month (BOM). I have looked at several options. None quite rang true, and I wasn't quite sure why.

Until...

I found the Splendid Sampler book by Pat Sloan and Jane Davidson. I instantly knew. Yep. This is THE one!

Do you have this book at home? or maybe you have the patterns from when they were on the website? good! You will need them when the BOM starts. I will not be supplying the pattern with the blocks when I send them out. This would be a violation of copyright--and we all KNOW how I feel about that!

I plan to offer 2 different packages per month of 2 blocks each. One kit with have 2 pieced blocks in it. The other package will be 2 blocks that are not pieced. If you have the book you know that there are several blocks that are applique, embroidery and foundation pieced. Some people like those techniques, others don't.

For the clients who purchase both kits, I will include a 5th bonus block. It could be any technique. For all clients I am organizing a Facebook group where blocks can be swapped, tips given, etc. Optional layouts will probably be discussed at some point! I may include some of the tips, etc in my newsletters as well. Don't forget that all blocks will be laser cut. Some are super quick to assemble. They all have tiny pieces! My fabrics are pre-washed, set with Retayne for color fastness and come from a smoke free and pet free studio.

This picture is a block I was cutting to get ready for a quilt retreat where I am already working on my samples for the BOM. I like to make the blocks ahead of time and make notes for future reference!

These blocks are suitable for confident beginners--because most of the cutting has been done! (some trimming is required!). The blocks will be scrappy so that any fabric you may want to add for sashing and borders will coordinate.

My youngest son and I visited the Virginia Quilt Museum a few weeks ago, and guess who I was able to get to sign my book? You guessed it! Pat Sloan was there with her display of fabulous quilts. She is just as nice in person as she is on her podcast! I wish I had been able to stand around and visit more, but my son (the official quilt photographer of Custom Quilt Kits) was on the move and not interested in being social.

I hope to start this BOM in March. I am going to limit the participation to 30 to start out. At some point I will put a shopping cart on my website where extra blocks or blocks that you may have missed purchasing will be available. Why limit the number? I know once baseball season starts in the spring, 30 is all I will be able to comfortably keep up with! I want everyone to have a great experience! I already have 3 slots taken, send me an email to sign up today!

Rose@customquiltkits.com.

Oh! I forgot to mention price. (minor detail, right? lol) Each kit will be $20 and that includes tax and shipping in the US.

Just sit down and sew!

Encourage a friend to sign up with you!

To quote Pat...

Happy Quilting!

Rose

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page