top of page

it is FINALLY done!

Happy July Everyone!

Several years ago I had a vision of a wool cape. For those who know me personally, you know that I am ALWAYS cold. I don't warm up until the temps are over 90*. (please don't hate me!)

I started collecting wool at quilt shows for this project.

I started scouring Pinterest for a wool cape pattern. (The board is still up if you want to follow it!) Click here.

I originally thought I was going to have my other foot surgery last December, so in November I ordered the wool cape fabric from Mood Fabrics~ www.moodfabrics.com

I started cutting out the flowers with my Rose of Sharon dies.

Rose of Sharon cape construction

Then I was told my surgery would be put off until at least this December. A good thing, btw.

I decided to go ahead with the project since I had all the materials!

I hand applique all the flowers, stems and leaves. I hand stitched all the tiny seed beads...

Rose of Sharon cape construction

(I call this one my donut flower. It looks like sprinkles. lol)

Rose of Sharon cape construction

Finally, the day of construction arrived...I banned my boys from the sewing studio unless the house was on fire or they were bleeding and couldn't get it to stop...

Rose of Sharon Cape construction

Then a quick trip to the fabric store for lining...

And finally!

I'm glad this project is done! I really enjoyed working with wool. I may put another wool project on my bucket list, if the right one comes along.

So many of my readers ask how I get so much done. The secret is in the pre cut pieces. This project up until the construction was very portable and I took it almost EVERYWHERE with me. I love that my business helps clients save time and become more efficient, and what's not to love about that?

Let me help you save time on your next project!

Keep quilting!

Rose


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page