top of page

Tearing apart an old quilt to make something new...

Hello Everyone!

I hope you are enjoying your summer! I have been super busy! I have finished my bathroom remodel--the one that I have been working on for 21 months; I have cleaned and sealed my deck; and I recently put up a temporary door to my studio so I can start that remodel soon! If you don't already "like" my Facebook page or follow me on Instagram, head over and like or follow me so you can keep up with the demolition (always my favorite part!)

Have you ever torn apart an old quilt to make it new again? I have seen pictures on Pinterest (you can follow me there as well!) where quilters take a ratty and tattered antique quilt and cut out the parts that are salvageable and frame them. I've also seen pics where they have created something entirely new such as a handbag.

Well...my project isn't nearly so glamorous. I made a rag quilt about 15 years ago. It was my first. Before I even had my die cut machine or my quilt business. Before I knew what I was doing. The fringe was cut too thick and too long. It didn't "rag" correctly.

Then...

I had a German Shepherd (miss that dog!) named Samson. He got lonely one day while I was at work, climbed up on my bed and ATE several holes in my quilt. The good news, this was not a quilt that had memories attached. This was NOT a quilt that was a work on art...well, let me post some pics. You'll see...

So, yesterday after pressure washing my deck and waiting for it to dry, I took my sharpest scissors (you know, the ones that NO ONE is allowed to touch, upon punishment of death? yeah, those) and cut this quilt apart.

I recently learned how to cut rag squares with my laser. I'm not sure if it will "rag" correctly because the fringe is burnt in the cutting process in the laser. I'm practicing on my own project, so I don't have to practice on a clients' project (always a good idea!)

Here is a pic of how they look when the come out of the laser and I've sewn a few together.

I'll let you know after I wash it how the fringe does. If this works out, the nice thing about cutting it with my laser is I can size it to meet a clients' needs. Do you want 12.5" rag squares to use a pre cut bundle you bought? I can do that! Do you want to use up those charm squares you have been collecting? I can do that!

I would love a comment or two about a quilt you have torn apart to give new life!

Until next time,

keep quilting!

Rose


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page