top of page

Applique' and more applique'

Hello Everyone!

Just when I thought Spring was here for good, we are expecting snow this weekend. I'm not complaining! Bring on some snow days! My boys will be on Spring Break next week and it would be nice to be able to stay home with them. LET IT SNOW!

Last week was my Intersession week at school (my school operates on a modified year-round schedule) and my husband and I took the boys to Disney in Orlando, FL. To say we had a GREAT time is an understatement...

Here are my boys meeting Kylo Ren (he is a character in Star Wars). I know he is a "bad guy", but not much more than that. My boys were a little intimidated by him. lol

On to quilty news...

I have been in the final push of finishing my beach quilt. In fact, I'm going to a quilt "retreat" this weekend to work on it. I hope to get the top completed. I only work on one machine project and one hand project at a time. I've been working on this one for almost 2 years. whew! My beach quilt has applique in it. I know some people are intimidated by applique (I hope not as much as my boys and Kylo Ren, though!). I've included some YouTube links that show a variety of techniques. If you've not tried applique before, I encourage you to do so. It takes practice, just like anything else. You will also develop your preferred method, mine is applique by hand. Of course, sending me your pattern and fabric to have pre-cut makes everything so much easier! Send me an email and we can get started on your next project!

Here is a needle turn applique technique:

Here is a video with one of my favorite people, Edyta Sitar...

And here is a video on machine applique:

My sewing machine only has a straight stitch. If I had a fancy machine, you better believe I would be doing applique by machine!

Until next time, keep quilting!

Rose


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page